International Awards

Booker Prize

The Booker Prize was first awarded in 1969. Its aim was to stimulate the reading and discussion of contemporary fiction, in the hope that newly published work would eventually become as central to Anglophone culture as Francophone fiction was to France, thanks to the Prix Goncourt. 

Booker Prize International

The Booker Prizes exist to reward the finest in fiction, highlighting great books to readers. The International Booker Prize is awarded annually for a single book, translated into English and published in the UK or Ireland. The symmetrical relationship between the Booker Prize and the International Booker Prize ensures that the ‘Booker’ honours fiction on a global basis.


The International Booker Prize aims to encourage more reading of quality fiction from all over the world. The vital work of translators is celebrated, with the £50,000 prize money divided equally between the author and translator. Each shortlisted author and translator also receives £1,000. Both novels and collections of short stories are eligible.


PEN American Literary Awards

PEN America stands at the intersection of literature and human rights to protect free expression in the United States and worldwide. We champion the freedom to write, recognizing the power of the word to transform the world. Our mission is to unite writers and their allies to celebrate creative expression and defend the liberties that make it possible.

Pulitzer Awards

For over 100 years the Pulitzer prize has been awarded to American writers in fiction and nonfiction.

Women's Prize for Fiction (UK)

The Women’s Prize for Fiction is the UK’s most prestigious annual book award celebrating & honouring fiction written by women.